This is the "Home" page of the "English 110/English 120" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 110/English 120  

Resources specifically chosen for common assignments in First-Year Composition classes.
Last Updated: Nov 3, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/English110English120 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Get Help Now!

·          Chesnutt Library

·          Ask a Librarian (chat)

·          Hours

·          Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

·         Research Tools

 

FSU Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Cite Your Sources

Plagiarism is a serious issue. Make sure you site your sources and give credit where credit is due!

1. View tools and  examples in our Citation Tools guide:

http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/aecontent.php?pid=182490&sid=1535720

2. View our "Style Manuals and Information on Writing Papers" site on our web page, under "Research Tools":

http://library.uncfsu.edu/reference/RefStyleMan.htm

3. Get your hands on MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

4. Create a free RefWorks account, allowing you to create your own database of research including articles, citations and the ability to automatically create bibliographies.

Where To Start

Writing an English 110 or 120 paper that requires you to find outside sources? Start with these:

  • Books: Library Catalog
    Search the books available at Charles Chesnutt Library.
  • Journal/Newspaper/Magazine articles: Academic Search Complete or OmniFile Full-Text Mega (H. W. Wilson) or NC Live Databases
    The first two listed are great general databases when you need a place to start to find journal articles or other types of articles on your topic. NC Live provides many databases on different subjects
     

    Find Books in the Online Catalog

    Keyword Searching Tips:

    • and - both terms must be present (Ex: Shakespeare and gender)
    • or - either term may be present (Ex: men or masculinity)
    • * - truncation (Ex: feminis* - will find feminism, feminist, etc.)

    My Profile

    Profile Image
    Diana Amerson
    Contact Info
    Diana Amerson, Bibliographic Instruction & Distance Education Librarian/Model UN Faculty Advisor, Library Liaison, Political Science & Philosophy
    Charles W. Chesnutt Library
    Fayetteville State University
    1200 Murchsion Road
    F
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip