This is the "Home" page of the "Forensic Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Forensic Science  

Last Updated: May 10, 2016 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/ForensicScience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Helpful Databases

  • Science Direct
    "ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles"
  • Wiley
    "Features over 1,000 journals, major reference works, online books, Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and databases as well as a suite of professional and management resources."
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
    "Contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline." Includes all major aspects of criminal justice including forensic science."
 

Books in the library recommended for for forensic science

Cover Art
Ethics in Forensic Science - J. C. Upshaw Downs (Editor); Anjali Ranadive Swienton (Editor)
Call Number: HV8073 .E84 2012
ISBN: 9780123850195
Publication Date: 2012-03-26
This work will draw upon the expertise of the editors as authors and various contributors in order to present several different perspectives with the goal of approaching and understanding when ethical lines are crossed. In order to achieve this goal, comparisons of various canons of ethics from related fields such as medicine, law, the military, science and politics will be examined and applied. Case studies will be presented throughout to illustrate ethical dilemmas and challenge the reader with the goal of greater understanding. * First book to comprehensively address ethics in forensics beyond the laboratory * Real-life cases presented involving unethical behavior to illustrate concepts * Discusses ethical considerations while delineating opinion from fact in testimony * Places forensic ethics within the canons of the legal and medical systems

Cover Art
Criminalistics - Richard Saferstein
Call Number: HV8073 .S24 2011
ISBN: 9780135045206
Publication Date: 2010-01-03
Criminalistics is the definitive source for forensic science because it makes the technology of the modern crime laboratory clear to the non-scientist.  Written by a well-known authority, the text covers the comprehensive realm of forensics and its role in criminal investigations. Physical evidence collection and preservation techniques are examined in detail-including chapters on Computer Forensics and DNA. By referencing real cases throughout, Criminalistics, 10e captures the pulse and intensity of forensic science investigations and the attention of the busiest student. Some new, excited features for this edition include: New! Crime-Scene Reconstruction chapter New! Coverage of the latest DNA forensic technology  This book aims at making the subject of forensic science comprehensible to a wide variety of readers who are planning on being aligned with the forensic science profession.

 

E-Books

Cover Art
Forensic DNA Typing - John M. Butler
Call Number: Online only
ISBN: 9780080470610
Publication Date: 2005-02-08
Since the enormously successful first edition of Forensic DNA Typing was published, the Human Genome Project has published a draft sequence of the human genome and completed the "finished" reference sequence. The advent of modern DNA technology has resulted in the increased ability to perform human identity testing-desirable in a number of situations including the determination of perpetrators of violent crime such as murder and rape, resolving unestablished paternity, and identifying remains of missing persons or victims of mass disasters. The technology has been utilized in identifying remains from victims of the World Trade Center twin towers collapse following the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, the President Clinton-Monica Lewinsky scandal, and the identification of the remains in the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Indeed, our perceptions of history have been changed with DNA evidence that revealed Thomas Jefferson fathered a child by one of his slaves. This book examines the science of current forensic DNA typing methods by focusing on the biology, technology, and genetic interpretation of short tandem repeat (STR) markers, which encompass the most common forensic DNA analysis methods used today. Ten new chapters have been added to accommodate the explosion of new information since the turn of the century. *The only book available that specifically covers detailed information on mitochondrial DNA and the Y chromosome *Chapters cover the topic from introductory level right up to "cutting edge" research *High-profile cases are addressed throughout the book, near the sections dealing with the science or issues behind these cases *NEW TO THIS EDITION: D.N.A. Boxes--boxed "Data, Notes & Applications" sections throughout the book offer higher levels of detail on specific questions

Cover Art
Forensic Science - Douglas H. Ubelaker
Call Number: Online only
ISBN: 9781118373897
Publication Date: 2012-09-10
Co-published with the American Academy of Forensic Sciences, Forensic Science presents comprehensive international discussion of key issues and future directions within the forensic sciences.  Written by accomplished and respected specialists in approximately eleven distinct areas of the forensic sciences, the volume will examine central issues within each discipline, provide perspective on current debate and explore current and proposed research initiatives.  It will also provide the forensically involved international community with current in-depth perspective on the key issues in the contemporary practice of the forensic sciences.

Strengthening Forensic Science in the United States - National Research Council Staff (Contribution by); Science, Technology, and Law Committee; Committee on Applied and Theoretical Statistics, Nat (Contribution by); Identifying the Needs of the Forensic Sciences Community Committee; Applied and Theoretical
Call Number: Online only
ISBN: 9780309131315
Publication Date: 2009-07-29
Scores of talented and dedicated people serve the forensic science community, performing vitally important work. However, they are often constrained by lack of adequate resources, sound policies, and national support. It is clear that change and advancements, both systematic and scientific, are needed in a number of forensic science disciplines to ensure the reliability of work, establish enforceable standards, and promote best practices with consistent application. Strengthening Forensic Science in the United States: A Path Forward provides a detailed plan for addressing these needs and suggests the creation of a new government entity, the National Institute of Forensic Science, to establish and enforce standards within the forensic science community. The benefits of improving and regulating the forensic science disciplines are clear: assisting law enforcement officials, enhancing homeland security, and reducing the risk of wrongful conviction and exoneration. Strengthening Forensic Science in the United States gives a full account of what is needed to advance the forensic science disciplines, including upgrading of systems and organizational structures, better training, widespread adoption of uniform and enforceable best practices, and mandatory certification and accreditation programs. While this book provides an essential call-to-action for congress and policy makers, it also serves as a vital tool for law enforcement agencies, criminal prosecutors and attorneys, and forensic science educators

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Velappan Velappan
Contact Info
Access Services Librarian
Room # 117, First Floor
Charles W. Chesnutt Library
Fayetteville State University
1200 Murchison Road
Fayetteville, NC 28301
PH: 910-672-1236
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Vera Hooks
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip