HomeImport ReferencesWorkbooks & GuidesTraining, Tutorials and Webinars
In-Text CitationsWorks Cited PageSocial Media
In-Text CitationsReferences (Bibliography)Social Media
In-Text CitationsBibliographySocial Media
Citation Tools within DatabasesCreate Citations in Microsoft Word and Websites
On Writing PapersAccessing Articles and Writing Support on CampusThe Research ProcessAdditional Links for StudentsAnnotated BibliographiesScholarly vs. Popular
This is the "Annotated Bibliographies" page of the "How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper   Tags: apa, bibliography, chicago, citation, in-text, in-text citation, mla, parenthetical, works cited  

This guide lists selected Style Manuals, Citation Guides and other tools for citing both print and electronic/web sources in your work. Chesnutt Library also provides access to RefWorks, a web-based bibliography manager which automatically formats papers.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/cite Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Annotated Bibliographies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography which includes descriptive and evaluative comments about the sources cited in your paper.

How do I format my annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography entry consists of two components: the Citation and the Annotation.

Citation

The citation should be formatted in the bibliographic style that your professor has requested for the assignment. Some common citation styles include APA, MLA, and Chicago. For more information, see the How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper.

Annotation

Normally, an annotation is approximately 100-300 words in length (one paragraph). However, your instructor may have different expectations so it is recommended that you clarify the assignment guidelines before you begin.

An annotation may include the following information:

  • A brief summary of the source
  • The source’s strengths and weaknesses
  • The conclusions made
  • Why the source is relevant in your field of study
  • An evaluation of the research methodology (if applicable)
  • Information about the author’s background
  • Your personal conclusions about the source
  • Its relationships to other studies in the field
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip