Library Departments - CatalogingCataloging Department -Procedures and GuidesCataloging Department -Cataloging ToolsCataloging Department - Training and WorkshopsCataloging Department - Staff MembersLibrary Departments - Collection DevelopmentCollection Development - Special ProjectCollection Development - Fact Sheet and StatisticsInformation Literacy Program-MEBDInformation Literacy workshopInformation Literacy Workshop Documentations
This is the "Cataloging Department -Cataloging Tools" page of the "Charles W. Chesnutt Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Charles W. Chesnutt Library  

Contact us: (910) 672-1231
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/chesnuttlibrary Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Cataloging Department -Cataloging Tools Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

 

Library of Congress Classification (LCC)

The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is a classification system that was first developed in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to organize and arrange the book collections of the Library of CongressOver the course of the twentieth century, the system was adopted for use by other libraries as well, especially large academic libraries in the United States. It is currently one of the most widely used library classification systems in the world.

Library of Congress MARC standards

The MARC (MAchine-Readable Cataloging) formats are standards for the representation and communication of bibliographic and related information in machine-readable form. Standardized bibliographic data input, utilizing MARC formats, insures the integrity of the online public catalog in storage and retrieval of information. There are several versions of MARC in use around the world, the most predominant being MARC 21, created in 1999 as a result of the harmonization of U.S. and Canadian MARC formats, and UNIMARC, widely used in Europe. The MARC 21 family of standards now includes formats for authority records, holdings records, classification schedules, and community information, in addition to the format for bibliographic records.

OCLC Bibliographic Formats and Standards for WorldCat

WorldCat is a database of cataloging and classification information. Records are machine-readable bibliographic descriptions of items held by OCLC member institutions. The system links each bibliographic record to locations information. Bibliographic Formats and Standards is a guide to machine-readable cataloging records in WorldCat. It provides tagging conventions, input standards and guidelines for entering information into WorldCat.

Shelf Location Table

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip