HomeImport ReferencesWorkbooks & GuidesTraining, Tutorials and Webinars
In-Text CitationsWorks Cited PageSocial Media
In-Text CitationsReferences (Bibliography)Social Media
In-Text CitationsBibliographySocial Media
Citation Tools within DatabasesCreate Citations in Microsoft Word and Websites
On Writing PapersAccessing Articles and Writing Support on CampusThe Research ProcessAdditional Links for StudentsAnnotated BibliographiesScholarly vs. Popular
This is the "Chicago/Turabian" page of the "How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper   Tags: apa, bibliography, chicago, citation, in-text, in-text citation, mla, parenthetical, works cited  

This guide lists selected Style Manuals, Citation Guides and other tools for citing both print and electronic/web sources in your work. Chesnutt Library also provides access to RefWorks, a web-based bibliography manager which automatically formats papers.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/cite Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Chicago/Turabian Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Formatting

Unless otherwise specified by your professor:

  • Margins should be set at no less than 1” and no greater than 1.5”. 
  • All text should be flush left (ragged right); lines should be left justified.
  • Font should be something readable, such as Times New Roman.
  • Font size should be no less than 10 pt. (preferably, 12 pt.). 
  • Text should be consistently double-spaced, with the following exceptions: Notes and bibliographies should be singled-spaced internally; however, leave an extra line space between note and bibliographic entries. 
    • Block quotations, table titles, and figure captions should be single-spaced. 
      • A prose quotation of five or more lines should be blocked. 
      • A blocked quotation does not get enclosed in quotation marks.  
      • An extra line space should immediately precede and follow a blocked quotation. 
      • Blocked quotations should be indented .5” as a whole. 
  • Page numbers begin in the header of the first page of text with Arabic number 1. 
  • Subheadings should be used for longer papers. Put an extra line space before and after subheadings, and avoid ending them with periods.
    • CMS recommends you devise your own format but use consistency as your guide. 

  • Footnotes
    • The first time you cite a source, the note should include publishing information for that work as well as the page number on which the passage being cited may be found.
      • For subsequent references to a source you have already cited, you may simply give the author's last name, a short form of the title, and the page(s) cited. A short form of the title of a book is italicizedl a short form of the title of an article is put in quotation marks.
      • When you have two consecutive notes from the same source, you may use "Ibid." (meaning "in the same place") and the page number for the second note. Use "Ibid." alone if the page number is the same.
    • Footnotes should be double-spaced.
    • Place commentary after documentation when a footnote contains both, separated by a period.
    • In parenthetical citation, separate documentation from brief commentary with a semicolon.
    • Do not repeat the hundreds digit in a page range if it does not change from the beginning to the end of the range. 

  • References:
    • Label the first page of your back matter, and your comprehensive list of sources, “Bibliography” (for Notes and Bibliography style) or “References” (for Author Date style).
    • Leave two blank lines between “Bibliography” or “References” and your first entry.
    • Leave one blank line between remaining entries.
    • List entries in letter-by-letter alphabetical order according to the first word in each entry.
    • Use “and,” not an ampersand, “&,” for multi-author entries.
      • For 2 to 3 authors, write out all names. 
      • For 4 to 10 authors, write out all names in the bibliography but only the first author’s name plus “et al.” in notes and parenthetical citations.
      • When a source has no identifiable author, cite it by its title, both on the references page and in shortened form (up to four keywords from that title) in parenthetical citations throughout the text. 
      • Write out publishers’ names in full. 
      • Do not use access dates unless publication dates are unavailable.  
      • If you cannot ascertain the publication date of a printed work, use the abbreviation “n.d.”
      • Provide DOIs instead of URLs whenever possible. 
      • If you cannot name a specific page number when called for, you have other options: section (sec.), equation (eq.), volume (vol.), or note (n.).

(via Chicago Manual of Style, 57-63; Purdue OWL; and GPC Libraries)

 

Useful Chicago Style Links

 

Chicago-Style Bibliography

 

Print Manuals

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip