Library Departments - CatalogingCataloging Department -Procedures and GuidesCataloging Department -Cataloging ToolsCataloging Department - Training and WorkshopsCataloging Department - Staff MembersLibrary Departments - Collection DevelopmentCollection Development - Special ProjectCollection Development - Fact Sheet and StatisticsInformation Literacy Program-MEBDInformation Literacy workshopInformation Literacy Workshop Documentations
This is the "Library Departments - Collection Development" page of the "Charles W. Chesnutt Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Charles W. Chesnutt Library  

Contact us: (910) 672-1231
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/chesnuttlibrary Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Library Departments - Collection Development Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Forms and Other Documents

The Collection Development Guidelines, 2001 and the fillable Donatios/Gifts Form are listed below.

 

About Collection Development

The Office of Collection Development was established with funds from the Higher Education Act, Title III 2(b) awarded by the United States Department of Education. Title III funding continues to fund Library Resources Development and Implementation at the Chesnutt Library, and to support the Office of Collection Development.

The Associate Director for Collection Development, Jan Whitfield, beginning November 2016, heads the Office of Collection Development. She is assisted by Joan Milligan, who provides administrative and clerical assistance. The Administrative Assistant assists in managing the selection of materials deemed pertinent to the collection. It is the Associate Director of Collection Development's duty to screen and to evaluate the library collection in order to select retrospective and current materials. She must also carry the responsibility of selecting materials in order to achieve a balanced collection and to coordinate the resource development of the library as a whole. The Associate Director works closely with faculty and librarians on staff with the selection of materials for the library, ensuring that selection decisions are within budgetary constraints and curriculum needs. While Chesnutt Library relies heavily upon faculty selection of materials, the ultimate responsibility for collection development directions, guidelines and decisions, including adequacy and quality of selections, rests primarily with the Office of Collection Development and the librarians who serve as liaisons.

 

Department Mission

While Chesnutt Library relies heavily upon faculty selection of materials, the ultimate responsibility for collection development directions and policy decisions, including adequacy and quality of selections, rests with the Office of Collection Development.

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip