Selected Web Sites on Citing References and Writing Papers
Selected Web Sites on Citing References and Writing Papers
- 4hb.Com, Letters and Forms, Over 550 Sample Business Letters
- AIP (American Institute of Physics) Style Manual
- American Psychological Association (Style Guide), Ohio State University Libraries
- APA Style (6th) Quick Guide, Dalhousie University Libraries
- APA Online: APA Style.org
- APA Online: APA Style.org - Basics of APA Style: Tutorial
- APA Online: APA Style.org - Supplemental Material: Writing Clearly and Concisely: General Guidelines for Reducing Bias
- APA Online: APA Style.org - Supplemental Material: Writing Clearly and Concisely: Reducing Bias By Topic: 3.13 Sexual Orientation
- APA Style Help, American Psychological Association
- ASA: Preparation Checklist for ASA Manuscripts, American Sociological Association
- ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers): E-Book - Publishing in ASCE Journals: A Guide for Authors
- Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation at GrammarBook.Com
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
- Chicago Manual of Style (Style Guide), Ohio State University Libraries
- Citation Builder, North Carolina State University. Assists with creating citations in different styles.
- Citation Builder, University of North Carolina @ Chapel Hill, Assists with creating citations in different styles
- Citation Machine by Landmark, Assists with creating citation styles in MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian and Harvard.
- Citation Style Guides for Internet and Electronic Sources, University of Alberta Libraries
- Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online is Now Re: Writing 3, Bedford/St. Martins, Now a collection of free writing resources that provides tutorials, videos and writing exercises.
- EasyBib, Assists with creating a bibliography in APA, MLA and Chicago style.
- Elements of Style by William Strunk at Bartleby.Com
- ESA, Entomological Society of America Style Guide see References Cited Section
- Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style), OWL at Purdue
- Guide to Grammar and Punctuation (With 20 Resources to Help You Hone Your Skill), InformED, Open Colleges
- Guide to Grammar and Writing Capital Community College Foundation, Hartford, Connecticut
- How to Cite Film, Video and Online Media, Library, University of California, Berkeley
- How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography Produced by the Reference Department Collections, Reference, Instruction & Outreach (CRIO), Cornell University Library, Ithaca, NY, USA We received permission to link to it for our use.
- InfoPlease's Homework Center on Writing Skills Contains information on how to write essays, a research paper, a biography, a book report, a bibliography, and tips on spelling and grammar.
- MLA Style (8th) Quick Guide, Dalhousie University Libraries
- MLA Style FAQs, by the Modern Language Association of America Online
- Modern Language Association (Style Guide), Ohio State University Libraries
- OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue University An extensive website that provides detailed information on different kinds of writing from cover letters to theses, grammar and sentence and paragraph structure, different citation styles in different disciplines.
- Plagiarism Tutorial, University of Southern Mississippi
- Reference.Com Has a dictionary and a thesaurus with a Word of the Day feature and crosswords
- Son of Citation Machine An interactive web tool designed to assist high school, college, and university students, their teachers, and independent researchers in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- Turabian Style: In-Text Citations and List of References, University of Georgia Libraries
- Uncle Sam: Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications, University of Memphis
- Write Place Catalogue, LEO: Literacy Education Online, St. Cloud State University Provides information on different styles and types of writing, including sentence structure, grammar and punctuation.
- Writer's Handbook Index Page, Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Excellent source on types of writing from letters to research papers, dissertations to reviews and annotated bibliographies. Also includes how to cite materials used in different styles, tips on grammar and avoiding plagiarism.
- Zotero A research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites.
Style Manuals and Information on Writing Papers
Style manuals are guides that tell you exactly how to cite your sources for different disciplines. Your instructor will let you know what style to use.
If you are not sure whether to cite a source, it is always a good idea to air on the side of caution and include a citation.
The following is a link to Style Guides available at Charles Chesnutt Library
Style Manuals in Print Available at Charles Chesnutt Library
Style Manuals are available in print at the Reference Desk or on Reserves at the Circulation Desk, which are both located on the first floor of the Library. There are also titles located in the Main Stacks and E-Book Titles.
- AMA Handbook of Business Writing: the Ultimate Guide to Style, Grammar, Usage, Punctuation, Construction, and Formatting - E-Book in ebrary Academic Complete
- ASA Style Guide (American Sociological Association) 3rd ed. - Ready Ref HM 569 .A54 2007
- Bedford Guide for College Writers: with Reader, Research Guide and Manual 7th ed. - Ref and Main Stacks PE 1408 .K49 2005 and on Reserves under Harrington
- Broadcast News and Writing Stylebook 4th ed. - Ref PN 4784 .B75 P36 2010
- Chicago Manual of Style 16th ed. - Ready Ref Z 253 .U69 2010
- Cite Right : A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and More - REF PN 171 .F56 L55 2006
- Complete Your Dissertation or Thesis in Two Semesters or Less 3rd ed. - Main Stacks LB 2369 .O33 2006
- Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual 2nd ed.- Main Stacks HV 9950 .C74323 2002
- Essentials of Sports Reporting and Writing - Main Stacks PN 4784 .S6 .R45 2009
- Feature Writing: the Pursuit of Excellence 7th ed. (Feature Writing for Newspapers and Magazines) - Main Stacks PN 4784 .F37 F75 2011
- Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations (Turabian) 13th ed. - Main Stacks LB 2369 .T8 2013
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 7th ed. - Ref LB 2369 .G53 2009
- On Compiling an Annotated Bibliography 2nd ed. - Ref Z 1001 .H33 2000
- Portable Dissertation Advisor - Main Stacks LB 1742 .B79 2004
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) 6th ed. - Ready Ref BF 76.7 .P83 2010
- Scientific Style and Format: the CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers 7th ed. - Ref T 11 .S386 2006
- St. Martin's Guide to Writing 9th ed. - Main Stacks PE 1408 .A94 2010
- Student's Guide to Writing College Papers 4th ed. - Main Stacks LB 2369 .T82 2010
- Style and Usage Guide to Writing About Music - Ref ML 3797 .D76 2010
- Technical Writing: Process and Product 5th ed. - Ref PE 1475 .G47 2006
- Writing for Digital Media - Main Stacks PN 171 .O55 C37 2010
- Writing Research Papers: a Complete Guide 12th ed. - Main Stacks - LB 2369 .L4 2007
- Writing the Research Paper: a Handbook 6th ed. - Ref LB 2369 .W55 2003
- Writing Your Thesis 2nd ed. - Main Stacks LB 2369 .O55 2008