HomeImport ReferencesWorkbooks & GuidesTraining, Tutorials and Webinars
In-Text CitationsWorks Cited PageSocial Media
In-Text CitationsReferences (Bibliography)Social Media
In-Text CitationsBibliographySocial Media
Citation Tools within DatabasesCreate Citations in Microsoft Word and Websites
On Writing PapersAccessing Articles and Writing Support on CampusThe Research ProcessAdditional Links for StudentsAnnotated BibliographiesScholarly vs. Popular
This is the "MLA" page of the "How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper   Tags: apa, bibliography, chicago, citation, in-text, in-text citation, mla, parenthetical, works cited  

This guide lists selected Style Manuals, Citation Guides and other tools for citing both print and electronic/web sources in your work. Chesnutt Library also provides access to RefWorks, a web-based bibliography manager which automatically formats papers.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/cite Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

MLA Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Manuals

Cover Art
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 9781603290241
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Located behind the Reference Desk

Cover Art
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing - Modern Language Association of America Staff (Created by)
Call Number: PN147 .G444 2008 (Reference)
ISBN: 9780873522977
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

 

How to Cite Using MLA Style

Don't forget that you must cite your sources both in-text and at the end of your paper in a Works Cited/Reference Page/Bibliography.

 1. Citations within Your Paper

 MLA Style uses brief citations within the text of a paper immediately after a quote, a reference to a source, or a paraphrase. The brief citation gives the author and page number of the source you are referring to, allowing readers to locate the full citation in your Works Cited list.

Examples:
Pythagoras invented the monochord (Smith 182).
Smith believed that Pythagoras invented the monochord (182).

In both examples, the complete information about the work by Smith would appear in the Works Cited list after Smith's name. If you cite more than one work published by Smith, you would distinguish the works by including a shortened version of the title: e.g. (Smith, Survey 182).

  • More basics on in-text citations via Purdue OWL 

2. Works Cited List/Bibliography

The alphabetical list of works cited that appears at the end of your paper contains more information about all of the sources you've cited allowing readers to refer to them, as needed. The main characteristics are:

  • The list of Works Cited must be on a new page at the end of your text
  • Entries are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name or by the title if there is no author
  • Titles are italicized (not underlined) and all important words should be capitalized
  • Entries are double-spaced (for the purposes of this page, single-spacing is used)
    Each entry must include the publication medium. Examples include: Print, Web, DVD, and Television.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip