HomeImport ReferencesWorkbooks & GuidesTraining, Tutorials and Webinars
In-Text CitationsWorks Cited PageSocial Media
In-Text CitationsReferences (Bibliography)Social Media
In-Text CitationsBibliographySocial Media
Citation Tools within DatabasesCreate Citations in Microsoft Word and Websites
On Writing PapersAccessing Articles and Writing Support on CampusThe Research ProcessAdditional Links for StudentsAnnotated BibliographiesScholarly vs. Popular
This is the "Create Citations in Microsoft Word and Websites" page of the "How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Cite - Guide to Citing Sources in Your Research Paper   Tags: apa, bibliography, chicago, citation, in-text, in-text citation, mla, parenthetical, works cited  

This guide lists selected Style Manuals, Citation Guides and other tools for citing both print and electronic/web sources in your work. Chesnutt Library also provides access to RefWorks, a web-based bibliography manager which automatically formats papers.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/cite Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Create Citations in Microsoft Word and Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citation Generators

There are various free online tools are available to help you create citations.  Always remember to check the formatting of any machine-generated citation! Here are just a few you may want to check out:

  • BibMe: create and manage your bibliographies from anywhere; MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian styles.
  • Zotero: is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.  It lives right where you do your work--in the web browser itself.
  • NoodleBib Express: enter your item's information and generate a citation that can be copied and pasted into your document.
  • EasyBib: generate citations in MLA, APA, or Chicago.
  • Citation Builder: From NCSU Libraries.  MLA and APA style.
  • Son of Citation Machine: MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian.  Copy and paste the generated citation into your document.
 

Create a Bibliography in Word

Did you know that you can create a bibliography or works cited page using word?


Visit the following Microsoft link for official instructions!

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/word-help/create-a-bibliography-HA010067492.aspx

Information on creating footnotes and endnotes in Microsoft Word:

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/word-help/insert-or-create-footnotes-and-endnotes-HA101854833.aspx

NOTE:

While MS Word 2007 and other online resources offer automatic formatting tools for citations, these systems are NOT ALWAYS ACCURATE and do not allow for formatting of all pertinent information. While you may use these tools, it is important to always double check their accuracy against a style guide.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip