This is the "Home" page of the "Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology  

Resources for anthropology, the study of humanity in all times and places.
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2017 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/content.php?pid=706250 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful databases for Anthropology

You can also search for these databases in the FSU library databases A-Z

  • Academic Search Complete
    Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.
  • Open Access Archaeology
    OpenAccessArchaeology.org is dedicated to helping people discover and use Open Access resources in the field of Archaeology.
  • Project Muse
    Currently, Project MUSE� offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual...
  • ProQuest Central
    Search all ProQuest databases at once, from FSU and NCLive.
  • ProQuest Social Science Journals
    With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.

  • Science Direct
    ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles

  • Springer Link
    for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.
  • Taylor and Frances
    "As one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals, books, ebooks and reference works our content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology."

  • Web of Knowledge
    Includes Web of Science's coverage of the natural and social sciences and humanities. Among other content this database features 23,000 journals (including over 11,000 unique titles in Web of ScienceSM), 23,000,000 patents and 110,000 proceedings
  • Wiley
    Features over 1,000 journals, major reference works, online books, Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and databases as well as a suite of professional and management resources.

  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

Other Resources

  • Refworks
    Refworks is a database that you create. After you sign up for an account, you can store the papers you site in it, then bring them into your paper in almost any format. APA, MLA, Turabian. Even formats like ASA or AMA.
 

Anthropology Courses at FSU

ANTH 210: INTRODUCTION TO ANTHROPOLOGY

Anthropology 210 is an introduction to the history and methods of anthropology, with special emphasis on early hominid and cultural evolution, the comparative study of social institutions, and the nature of cultural differences as they exist in traditional and modern societies.

 

ANTH 310: CROSS CULTURAL STUDIES IN ANTHROPOLOGY

Anthropology 310 is designed to introduce students to the major intellectual, practical, methodological, and ethical concepts of cultural anthropology. Students will examine in-depth anthropological concepts of culture, behaviors, and belief systems. The goal of this course is to provide a comparative analysis of the cultural differences in human adaptations, the appreciation of diverse values and lifestyles, and the application of the cross-cultural study of people throughout the world. Prerequisite: ANTH 210 or SOCI 150 or SOCI 210 or permission of instructor 

 

ANTH 305: SELECTED TOPICS IN ANTHROPOLOGY

Students will examine in-depth a topic of anthropological importance chosen by the instructor. Particular attention will be focused on current theoretical and/or methodological explanations of the particular substantive topic. Prerequisite: ANTH 210 or permission of the instructor

    Journals

    NOTE: If you are off-campus and having difficulty accessing the 2005-2013 journals, you can search those journals via EBSCO Discovery Services.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip