This is the "Getting Started" page of the "eBooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBooks   Tags: ebook, ebooks, online books  

Accessing ebooks (electronic books) at Charles W. Chesnutt Library.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uncfsu.edu/content.php?pid=391386 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

Charles W. Chesnutt Library provides students with access to a variety of eBook options. Ebooks are electronic copies of print books. They contain cover pages, table of contents, text and indexes. However, the greatest advantage of an eBook over a print book is that you can search the entire text of the book- this makes it much easier to find the part or parts of the book that you need.

The wonderful thing about eBooks is that because they are online, you can access them from any computer with an internet connection. You don't need to physically be at the library in order to do your research or view electronic books.

Databases with eBooks

Many of the databases owned by Charles Chesnutt Library include full text books as indicated by the list below. You can explore our databases on our library homepage and selecting Articles and Databases.

  • Ebrary
    There are over 40,000 books in our Ebrary eBook collection. New: Download e-books onto multiple devices. And try ebrary’s app for the Android or iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch!
  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
    Nearly 25,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. This collection also includes older literary classics in the public domain.

  • ABC- CLIO eBooks
  • Gale
    A large collection of reference E-books.
  • Greenwood Digital Collection
    E-book collection emphasizing history & literature. It includes the series Daily Life Through History, Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Authors, Historic Events of the 20th Century, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
  • JSTOR
  • MIT CogNet
    From MIT. CogNet provides full text of six brain and conitive science journals and the abstracts of 25 others, as well as 480 MIT Press books in full-text PDF.
  • MYiLibrary
    Fayetteville State University's own tailored eContent resource library.
  • NC Live eBooks
    Browse ebooks in NC Live - Gale Virtual Reference, eBooks from EbscoHost, MYiLibrary, and ABC-CLIO.
  • NetLibrary
    Access to the full text of more than 28,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.
  • ProQuest Dissertaions & Theses
    Full text access to dissertations and theses.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    SocINDEX with Full Text is considered one of the best indexes for social research, but it also contains over 800 search-able full text books.
  • SpringerLink
    for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics - 56,000+ ebooks
  • Wiley Online Library
    While considered strongest in providing journal article access, Wiley Online Library also included full text (PDF) access to over 9000 books. Strong in social sciences, life sciences, humanities and physical sciences.
  • LION (Literature Online)
    A fully searchable digital library of over 300,000 works of English and American literature.
  • ERIC
    Coverage is from 1966 - present of journal articles and documents such as reports, handbooks, and monographs in education. ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals
  • Learning Express Library
    Use this resource to practice for the ASVAB, GMAT, GRE PRAXIS, SAT, ACT and many other standardized tests. Registration is required, but no personal information is demanded.

Ebooks within the Library Catalog

Another way of locating eBooks is searching the Online Catalog, which has over 32,000 ebooks available to students.

Select Online Catalog on the main library homepage > New Search > Advanced Search > Select Ebooks under Material Type.

      
     

    Downloadable Tip sheets

    Downloadable pdf tip sheets for locating eBooks in our library catalog, and databases.

     

    Get Help or Research Assistance from a Librarian!

    More Ways to Get Answers

    Chat

     amputnam@uncfsu.edu
    Call: (910) 672-1233
    Facebook
    Tweet:@charleschesnutt

    Get help in person during opening hours

    Regular Hours:

    Monday - Thursday 7:45 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
    Friday 7:45 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
    Saturday 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
    Sunday 2:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
     

    FSU Chat

    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip